BC Randonneurs Cycling Club


Official Page

What is the BC Randonneurs Cycling Club?


The mandate of BC Randonneurs is to organize rides in accordance to the rules of randonneur cycling as practiced by Audax Club Parisien in France. BC Randonneurs was a founding member in 1983, of Randonneur Mondiaux which organizes brevets 1200 km or longer worldwide. Randonneur Cycling is sometimes referred to as marathon cycling and can be described as fast long-distance cycling. The activities of the club and the general information about the sport is discussed more fully elsewhere on this site on this page: An Introduction to Randonneur Cycling.

Randonneur Cycling in British Columbia began in 1979 and for many years operated as a sector of the Bicycle Association of British Columbia (now called cycling BC). In March 1996 BC Randonneurs became an autonomous entity, and is now defined as a 'society' under the Societys Act of British Columbia (Incorporation number: S-35024). Additional historical info HERE.

The club presidency changes yearly. Traditionally the president has been succeeded by the Vice President. All other positions on the Randonneur Committee are reconsidered yearly, though the same person may hold a post for multiple years.



Much of content on this web site can be described as general information and commentary. The information linked from this page is the club's official governance content. When a page's content is offical club policy you'll see the green bar and the words "official page", as seen above. The two PDF files below do not have the green bar marker, but are official pages, and so is the current members list. Here's a list of the offical pages:

Club Constitution, Most recent update from October 2018 [PDF]
Partnership Agreement with Audax Club Parisien, Oct 2005 [PDF] HERE.
Randonneur Rules HERE.
Policy statement defining a BC randonneur brevet or flèche HERE.
Process for introducing a club award HERE.
Current membership list HERE.
Current agenda (for next committee meeting or the immediately past meeting) HERE.

Executive committee minutes HERE.

Contact: Executive Committee by e mail: HERE (Message
goes to all current executive members.)


Randonneur Committee Archive
& Past Presidents List
(1979 - present)


2019 BC Randonneur Committee
(See Brief bios of current club executive members)

Elected Executive:

President: Colin Fingler -->

Vice President: Peter Stary

Treasurer: Jacques Bilinski

Secretary: Anna Bonga

Member at large: Will Danicek
Member at large: Stephen Hinde
Member at large: Étienne Hossack-->
Member at large: Cheryl Lynch-->
Member at large: Jeff Mudrakoff -->
Member at large: Nigel Press-->
Member at large: Gary Sparks
Member at large: Rozanne Stedman
Member at large: Maciej Szarecki

Non Elected:

Databaset: Ryan Golbeck
Peace Region Brevet Coordinator: Wim Kok
Permanents: Eric Fergusson & Bob Koen
Pins & Medals: Karen Smith
RandoPony Pre-registration: Doug Latornell
Southern Int. Brevet Coordinator: Bob Goodison
Vancouver Is. Brevet Coordinator: Mark Payten
Web Site: Eric Fergusson

For a fuller list of the volunteers and ride organizers for any year go to the randonneur committee archive page.

Brief descriptions of the roles/tasks [PDF] associated with various positions.

& Constitution

& Web Site Development

& ACP Corespondant
& Equipment
& Lower Mainland Brevet Corrdinator



Executive meetings are held about ten times a year, The Annual General Meeting (+ ride and brunch) is held in early October. The minutes from the meetings are posted HERE.

Club members are also welcome to attend executive meetings with prior notice to the president or secretary. Contact Colin Fingler or Anna Bonga for meeting details. Alternatively you may ask any current executive member to bring forward an issue on your behalf.

Meetings are generally the first Thursday of the month.


BC Randonneurs Cycling Club
e mail: Club Executive
e mail, web site: Eric Fergusson

BC Randonneurs official administrative mailing address:
BC Randonneurs
PO Box 39024 Point Grey
Vancouver, BC V6R 4P1