Newsletter - 2011 Archive

BC Randonneurs logo BC Randonneurs logo

BC Randonneurs
Cycling Club
BC Randonneurs logo BC Randonneurs logo


2011 Eau de Hell Series Recognition Award
by Martin Williams, Series Organizer

No rhyme or reason, just my random memories from an enjoyable week:

True Grit: Kristy Mighton

Riding 1st brevet on a MTB, on that course! Runners-up; Charlie Gordon, Patrick Hummer & Aaron Mankowske 1st time 200 brevet riders & volunteering for future events!

True Grit: Ben Coli & Shiro Ogawa

First time 300 brevet swimmers riders.

True Grit: Ken Knutson & Dave Gillanders

Despite the pain & setbacks of the 300 they turned up smiling & both put in very credible performances
Series Favourite volunteer: Dave Macmurchie
Picture a bus shelter, complete with electrical supply at this “most” secret control, running throughout the night!

True Grit: All riders; see results list

A challenging last 220k on a hastily put together course, at the end of a wet, wet & cold week.
Most Bonus Mile: Ian Fillinger
Not content with a challenging course he “elected” to add on 66 bonus miles!
Personal Best: Ken Bonner
Most sleep hours at a control, I think!
True Spirit: Ali Holt & Gary Baker
Ali did not hesitate, abandoning her dinner, to ferry a spare wheel to a control point when needed. Unable to ride the event, Gary volunteered to drive 180 kms to man the turn-around control & then provided a recovery service for 2 DNF’s.

EdeH SERIES 1,500
True Grit: Ken Bonner, Henk Bouhuyzen, Eric Fergusson, Ian Fillinger, Ryan Goldbeck, Phil Lennox, Jeff Mudrakoff, Keith Patterson, Jim Runkell, Guido Van Duyn

Successfully completing the 2011 series.
Series Performance: Ian Fillinger
Led the riders’ home on all brevets. Three course records; 200, 300, & 400.
Series Dedication: Graham Fishlock
Road all three brevets (one Pre-ride), 300 ride organizer & made the time to volunteer at the registration for the 200, 400, 600 plus a control on the 400!
Magnanimous in Defeat: All DNF’S
No complaints just regrets. No-one “gave-up”.
Making it Happen: Patrick Wright, Jenny Watson, Graham Fishlock, Ben Coli, Lee Ringham, Cathy Ringham, Rob Welsh, Ali Holt, Dave Macmurchie, Gary Baker, Vic Banerjee, Dewain Emrich & Sharon Williams.
Without these folks there would have been no series … it’s as simple as that!

Just hope that I helped deliver the Eau & Hell in the right proportions!
Martin W
Series Organizer.


Ride dates: April 9-15
Go to: Eau de Hell Week Results
Go to: Eau de Hell Week Photos


April 16, 2011