Go to: CanPop Home

BC Randonneurs Cycling Club



2023 Canada Day Populaire - 156 km
...or choose the 100 km Celebration Route

The 2023 Canada Day Populaire will be 156 km long to celebrate Canada’s 156th birthday. New in 2018 was the 100 km route option, out to Birchwood Dairy and back, and we're offering it again in 2023.

The Start and Finish location for both routes is the same as 2022 at the Yorkson Community Park on 84th Avenue at 206th Street.This is located on the south side of the freeway approximately 1.1 km from the Carvolth Exchange Park & Ride. Access by vehicle will be to exit right (south) off TCH 1 at 200th Street, turn left on 86th Ave and follow it east then south as it becomes 206th Street. Yorkson Community Park is at 206th on 84th. Parking is very limited so car pooling is encouraged. Please consider transit.

There will be 2 staffed controls along the 156 km route and each will have water, Gatorade, fruit and sweets. This year the 156 km staffed controls are at the Matsqui Village Park and at the Birchwood.

The route offers a mix of terrain and mostly quiet roads taking you from the start through scenic Fort Langley, site of the official proclamation of British Columbia in 1858, onwards to Matsqui and quaint Old Clayburn, across Sumas Prairie, up Sumas Mountain, through Veddar Crossing, returning across Sumas Prairie via Huntingdon and Aldergrove to Fort Langley.

There will be two start wave for the 156 km route: 8:00 am and 8:15 am. The 100 km routes starts at 8:30. There will be a Control Card and a Route Sheet with a simple map given to each rider as the routes and roads are not marked.

Registration is only available on line this year, and will be limited to 400 riders. To ride a Populaire, you do NOT need to be a member of the BC Randonneurs Cycling Club.

We look forward to seeing you on July 1st.

Canada Day Organizing Team